Numbers: February 18, 2023

I know not quite a Monday but let’s call it a blissful Saturday, and hopefully back to my old writing habits.

My total for the weeks that I didn’t update goes as follows:

  • Week 34: 1,443 pages
  • Week 35: 483 pages
  • Week 36: 821 pages

The only week that gave a little bit over the quota was number 34, but not even close to countering the two awful results of the subsequent weeks. But not all are bad news since my last update, I finished the second volume of Gotrek and Felix´s Adventures and got to around 60% done with Cormac McCarthy’s Border Trilogy, thanks to my plans of getting as close as possible for this year’s total quota, a new section of this blog has emerged as a necessity to refocus the daily efforts toward the coveted 1,000,000-page mark.

With events like my 100-day march, the boldness, and the final breath, each day counts toward this year’s success.

Now let’s talk about MY NUMBERS, the current total is 35,949 of the 64,952 pages of this year’s goal, that’s 3,550 pages of progress since my last update, now the next task is to reach the number 4 spot in my top years of reading, which is currently 9,396 pages away. Still, there’s the 3,000-plus week that eludes me, one of the goals for year number fifteen is to have at least one, and finally have the first sigil, representing one of the three aspects of my inspiration, tattooed on my body.

My reading schedule, the Achilles heel of the whole shebang, is 54 days behind, four days more than the last update, this could be worst but as I commented before, this setback is a reflection of the current book that I’m reading being over 1,000 pages, and the return of H.P. Lovecraft’s story collection, a 1,353-page volume, back to my reading rotation gives me slow progress with a big pay off at the end, by the beginning of the 100-day march I should regain the lost ground and then some. My current projections put my total at 51,396 pages that are 13,546 pages less than what I’m comfortable with. The mantra for every morning will continue to be: one step at a time, one page at a time.

I start week thirty-seven with a deficit of 8,086 pages, giving me quite the challenge to balance out this gargantuan number in each of the 15 weeks left on this year of reading. That number for this week is 775 additional pages to the 1,246 pages of the weekly quota.

For the first 500,000 pages, I have only 47,675 pages left, and the new date of reaching that goal is August 23, 2024, that’s around 20 days earlier than the last projection, my sights are still pointed at March 20, 2023, as the desired date to reach the first half of the challenge, now I have 31 days to do so, but according to my current projection, the reality is that I’m 553 days behind schedule.

For the second part of the journey or the other 500,000 pages, my weekly pages needed are now 1,412 with a daily average of 202 pages, one daily page less than the last projection.

Now for the golden prize of 1,000,000 pages, to my delight, the projections put it 6,352 days away, a 62-day gain from the last projection, making the end date July 9, 2040, that’s 3,322 days after the original plan, 38 days less than the last projection. I have to keep reminding myself that my goal is to reach my goal by my 50th birthday, right now, I would be 59 years 1 month, and 4 days old.

To summarize the numbers from my Journey Back.

  • Pages to reach 500,000: 47,675 pages
  • Days to reach 1,000,000: 6,352 days
  • Days behind schedule: 3,322 days

Off to read.

azr.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑